Enthusiasms

Containing whatever I enthuse over

In Search of Lost Time

Posted by clissold345 on August 5, 2007

I’m thinking of reading Proust’s In Search of Lost Time. I don’t want to read all of it but I do want to get an idea of all of it. So I propose to read the following abridgment:

“Combray I” (the first part of the first part of Swann’s Way) from Swann’s Way.

Marcel’s first meeting with Albertine from In the Shadow of Young Girls in Flower.

Marcel’s grandmother’s death from The Guermantes Way.

The first thirty pages and last thirty pages of Sodom and Gomorrah.

The first thirty pages from The Captive.

The 200 pages on the concert at the Verdurins’ from The Captive

Omit The Fugitive

The last 200 pages of Time Regained (the last reception and reflections on writing).

 

(This proposed abridgment is in part derived from information that I found on the internet. At present I just own Swann’s Way Volume Two, which is not part of the abridgment.)

Leave a Reply

 
