Enthusiasms

Containing whatever I enthuse over

Jean Bodel

Posted by clissold345 on October 29, 2006

Jean Bodel was a French poet writing about 1200. In his poem “Les Congés” (Farewells) he writes movingly about the conflict between his sick body and his healthy mind:

Or primes doi men sens declore,
Le cuer ovrir et les ieus clore,
Car il m’ajorne et si m’anuite.

(Now first I must unfold my intelligence,
Open my heart and close my eyes,
Since for me it grows light even as it grows dark.)

4 Responses to “Jean Bodel”

  1. […]  Jean Bodel […]

  2. […] October 30th, 2006 Very beautiful. It is strange to remark how beautiful Middle Ages French literature … was. Have you tried Eleonor of Aquitaine … on love? Were a slight remark though be allowed, I would rather translate the ‘et si’ as an even if, not as a simple ‘and’. It would thus give: it grows light (becomes day) even if it grows dark (becomes night) — (in brackets the too heavy more literal translation.) What may you think of ‘is day in me even my darkness, or night’? Jean Bodel17 hours ago by clissold345. Spam? Tags: LiteratureJean Bodel was a French poet writing about 1200. In his poem “Les Conges” he writes movingly about the conflict between his sick body and his healthy mind:Or primes doi men sens declore, Le cuer ovrir et les ieus clore, Car il m’ajorne et si m’anuite.(Now first I must unfold my intelligence, Open my heart and close my eyes, Since for me it grows light and it grows dark.) […]

  3. hallo, I’m just ‘opening’ WP public and free Edition House (http://double2up.wordpress.com ). Your strange combination of computer systems and french poetry of the XII seems extremely attractive to my wondering eyes. Would you mind me putting it on the site? Perhaps you’d like to change the presentation or ad anything to it?

    Sincerily,
    S Kasten

  4. medai said

    can you send me poems by jean bodel and peter abelard that are translated to english.

Leave a Reply

 
